Spring Cleaning: Hunting and Gathering your way to a Paleo Kitchen!!

Posted: March 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

     So, For the last couple of days I have been taking a good hard look at my kitchen. Standing in front of my loaded cupboards, looking at all the shiny labels and pretty packages I am wondering how much of this food was bought on impulse. Probably most of it was purchased with little or no thought as to what it will be used for. Somehow, I have accumulated 10 cans of Garbanzo beans. REALLY???  What probably started as a good intention (to make my own hummus) now stands unused and forgotten.  It’s time to clean it out.  Now, I’m so not into wasting food. I know that I could possible save some of this non perishable (un opened) food for an “emergency” and some can be donated to a local food bank. So… that’s exactly what I’ve decided to do.  But First!!! I really think food tastes better in a clean, organized kitchen. Nothing feels better than a major purge and since we’re making an effort clean our bodies we need to do the same in the heart of the home. In my house, I have always been the one doing the cooking and really, thats not a problem for me. I love it. I could do it without complaint for the rest of my life. When I think about that,  I realize that puts me in a very powerful position in the family. I control (mostly) what my family is being fed. 

  I know it can be hard to purge. Start simple with a few things in your mind. Is this item making my life easier? How many times have I used it in the last 6 months or even a year? Clean out those tupperware and utencil drawers and scrub, sort, and THROW AWAY or donate what you do not need!!! Take a good look at your spices. How old are they? Make a list of ones you will need to replace and add 1 or 2 of them to each shopping list for the next 3 weeks. It will make it feel like you are not dropping a huge sum at once. Check the hispanic spice section. MUCH MUCH cheaper, and great selection.

     There are certian kitchen appliances that will make success with Paleo harder…1. Your microwave. ( I know that’s a big one, but I have not been using a microwave for nearly 2 years, and It is no harder to cook your food AND it will taste much better.) ……. 2.Your toaster….and….3. Your waffle maker.  It’s best to go ahead and remove them during your purge and get used to them not being around. (at least for 5 weeks).With that being said,  everything has it’s opposite …there are certian appliances that will make your life on Paleo much easier. I have done some research, and found my new best friends in the kitchen. 1.) A high powered blender. I purchased the Ninja. It has 900 Horsepower and 3 amazing chopping blades that will pulverize Veggies and nuts. I absolutely love it. It’s by far the best appliance to invest in. You can find it online, and wal mart also carries it.  2.) A Juicer. So these can be pretty spendy, but very very very worth it. I bought Jack La Lanne’s power juicer. If you have to choose between  #1 & #2, pick the blender. It has more functions and you will use it more.  3.) Sharp knives. It’s easier to cut all the veggies, obviously. lol….A few other items I think you will be needing are, a couple good baking sheets, a sturdy grater, 2 cooling racks for baking ( these are great for broiling meats and veggies on baking sheets without the mess of a full broiling pan. ( We are trying to save time, right?) Cutting boards, look over yours… they can be breeding ground for bacteria, and if they need to be replaced, do that now in your purge. Use one espically for meat, and one for fruit and veggies. A  hand juicer, for citrus fruits. One with a deep well at the bottom works best. 

    Paleo is a simple diet. Simple tools and simple recipies. We often make things more complex in our minds, and it creates a fear that life may not be as enjoyable if we are deprived of our favorite foods or crutches. But, there is really good news!!!  It is just as enjoyable!! Actually More so, since our bodies are functioning as they are intended to. We will soon reap the benefits of Paleo. More energy, better digestion, reduction in medications, better skin…And even a better sex life!!!!Obvioulsy the list goes on and on and on.  There is room for error, as long as the main bulk of your diet consists of natural, unprocessed meat, veggies, fruit, nuts and seeds.

So get to it!!! Clean out your kitchen, scrub and dust. Like I said before, food tastes better from a clean and organized kitchen. You’ll be suprised how the spring cleaning fever will spread to your closet, bedroom and garage!!!!

     Next blog subject: CHEATER CHEATER!!!!  What Is cheating? And how much can I do it without being caught!!!! LOL     Happy Eating, Jessica

                         

 

Leave a Reply

